2017 News

Announcing the 2017-2018 U.S. Fulbright-Schuman Grantees

The Fulbright Commission is pleased to announce the list of the 2017-2018 U.S. Fulbright-Schuman grantees. The Fulbright-Schuman Program, administered by the Commission for Educational Exchange between the United States, Belgium and Luxembourg, is jointly financed by the U.S. State Department and the Directorate-General for Education and Culture of the European Commission.

This year, there were 26 U.S. Student applicants and 13 U.S. Scholar applicants for a Fulbright-Schuman grant, respectively an increase of 15% and 23% compared to last year. In total, the selection committee awarded 5 U.S. students and 3 U.S. scholars a Fulbright-Schuman grant. U.S. grantees will be headed to Belgium (2), Denmark (1), France (1), Germany (2), Ireland (2), Italy (3),  Portugal (1), Romania (1), Sweden (2), The Netherlands (1),  and the UK (1).

In addition, 1 U.S. scholar was selected to be the Fulbright-Schuman Innovation Grantee. The following companies have contributed funds to the Fulbright-Schuman Innovation Grant program:  3M, American Airlines, Bank of America, Boeing, Estee Lauder, Gilead Sciences, Google, John Deere, Oracle, Pfizer, and TE Connectivity.

For Americans, the Fulbright-Schuman program focuses on research and/or study on EU policy or U.S.-EU relations at accredited universities or independent research centers, preferably within two different EU locations.

List of the 2017-2018 U.S. Fulbright-Schuman grantees:

[table id=32 /]