Non-Fulbright Awards

The following awards are NOT awarded by the Commission for Educational Exchange (N.B. they are non-Fulbright scholarships).  This list of non-Commission scholarships represents only a selection of various available awards and is meant to help ineligible or unsuccessful Fulbright Schuman applicants find alternate funding for their academic or professional endeavors within US-EU affairs.

The German Marshall Fund (GMF) –  Since its inception, the German Marshall Fund has brought Americans and Europeans together to increase understanding and to build transatlantic networks among the political, media, business, and nonprofit communities.  GMF works closely with partner organizations to sponsor a range of fellowship and exchange programs designed to provide both broad cultural exposure and more targeted opportunities for learning about specialized policy issues. Their list of fellowships is below:

Marshall Memorial Fellowship
Asmus Policy Entrepreneurs Fellowship
Urban and Regional Policy Fellowships
Manfred Wörner Seminar
Transatlantic Academy Fellowships
Transatlantic Fellows Program

For more information, visit

European Research Council (ERC) – European Research Council (ERC)  grants support individual researchers of any nationality and age who wish to pursue their frontier research within the ERC member states and associated countries. The ERC encourages in particular proposals that cross disciplinary boundaries, pioneering ideas that address new and emerging fields and applications that introduce unconventional, innovative approaches.

For more information, visit

Erasmus Mundus – The Erasmus Mundus programme provides support to individual students, researchers and university staff who wish to spend a study / research / teaching period in the United States or another approved country.

For more information, visit

The World Bank, RSM Fellowships – The Robert S. McNamara Fellowships Program provides support to young researchers working in academic and research institutions from eligible countries preparing a doctoral thesis. Research grants cover residence costs for a 5 to 10 month period in a renowned university or research center. Fellows are expected to advance their research work mainly by using the facilities and resources provided by the host institution and by interacting with peers.

For more information, visit,,contentMDK:21588578~menuPK:552352~pagePK:64168445~piPK:64168309~theSitePK:551843,00.html

International Visitor Leadership Program (IVLP) or European Union Visitors’ Program (EUVP) – These two programs are funded by the U.S. Department of State and the European Commission to send promising young leaders from the United States and the European Union to the other continent to exchange ideas, absorb culture, and gain contacts and knowledge within their field of U.S.-EU affairs.

For more information, US citizens should visit

For more information, EU citizens should visit

UACES Travel Grants

Since 2002, UACES has awarded 130 travel scholarships to postgraduate students from 32 different countries.

The scholarships are essentially travel bursaries designed to provide mobility to existing postgraduate students so that they can undertake research in another country. The scholarships are NOT for students looking for funding to enrol in a postgraduate course.

UACES generally offers four Scholarships for a fixed amount of 1,500 GBP to be awarded on a competitive basis to UACES members pursuing research in Contemporary European Studies.

For more eligibility information, visit

2014 EUSA Haas Fund Fellowship Competition

The 2013-2015 EUSA Executive Committee is pleased to announce the 2014 EUSA Haas Fund Fellowship Competition, an annual fellowship for graduate student EU-related dissertation research. Thanks entirely to contributions to our Ernst Haas Memorial Fund for EU Studies, launched in June2003 to honor the memory of the late scholar Ernst B. Haas (1924-2003) we will offer one or more unrestricted fellowship of at least $1,500 to support the dissertation research of any graduate student pursuing an EU-related dissertation topic in the academic year 2013-2014.

Please note the following stipulations for applicants, who must:

  • be pursuing the doctoral degree (PhD) at an accredited institution in any country;
  • be writing a dissertation in English;
  • have an EU-related, doctoral dissertation topic approved by the professor who will supervise it; and,
  • be able to demonstrate clearly the relevance to EU studies of the dissertation topic.

Applicants for this Fellowship should submit:

(1) A one-page précis of the project that specifies its relevance to EU Studies and describes how the fellowship would be used;

(2) A CV, and

(3) Ask for two letters of support to be sent directly to EUSA. These letters should be from professors serving on the student’s dissertation committee, and one should be the chair.

Please send applications to and use the heading “2014 E.B. Haas Fund Fellowship competition.” The firm deadline for applications to be received in the EUSA office is January 3, 2014. The successful applicant will be notified in March of 2014, and will receive the grant soon thereafter. The fellowship will be paid in one lump sum by check and in US dollars only.